## **E**PIDEMIOLOGY

## YOUNG KYUNG DO, WINNER OF THE 2020 ROTHMAN EPIDEMIOLOGY PRIZE



he Editors and Editorial Board of Epidemiology are pleased to announce the selection of Young Kyung Do as the winner of this year's Rothman Epidemiology Prize. This award of \$5000 is funded from a private endowment and is given annually for the best paper published in the journal in the preceding year. The selection criteria are importance, originality, clarity of thought, and excellence in writing. Dr. Do's winning paper, titled "Causal Effect of Sleep Duration on Body Weight in Adolescents: A Population-based Study Using a Natural Experiment," appeared in our November 2019 issue. The paper exploited a natural experiment in South Korea, where in March 2011, authorities in three of the 16 administrative regions required private tutoring institutes to close at 10 PM. The policy change was associated with sleep extension and body weight reduction in high school students. The study provides new population-level, causal evidence that corroborates consistent findings in the epidemiologic literature on the link between short sleep duration and increased body weight. Dr. Do is a Professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management, and Director of the Institute of Health Policy and Management, at the Seoul National University College of Medicine.

Congratulations also to runners-up Raiden B. Hasegawa and colleagues for their paper titled "Evaluating Missouri's Handgun Purchaser Law: A Bracketing Method for Addressing Concerns about History Interacting with Group" (May, 2019) and Ghassan B. Hamra and colleagues for their paper titled "Prenatal Exposure to Endocrine-disrupting Chemicals in Relation to Autism Spectrum Disorder and Intellectual Disability" (May, 2019).

## PAST WINNERS

1993	Claude Desenclos	2003	Rosalie Woodruff	2013	Ai Milojevic
1994	Carmen Navarro	2004	Carl Phillips	2014	José Zubizarreta
1995	Alfredo Nicolosi	2005	Miguel Hernán	2015	Dmitry Shaposhnikov
1996	Michelle Williams	2006	Jim Koopman	2016	John Jackson
1997	Sholom Wacholder	2007	Ana Baylin		& Sonja Swanson
1998	Jay Kaufman	2008	Kathryn Glass	2017	Douglas Wiebe
1999	Guohua Li	2009	Michela Baccini	2018	Esra Kürüm
2000	Hélène Carabin	2010	Lutz Breitling	2019	Corwin M. Zigler
2001	Lynn Moore	2011	Marc Lipsitch		
2002	Malcolm Maclure	2012	Theis Lange		